Energy and Nano: Emerging Molecular Science & Technology

Many distinguished lecturers, including Nobel Prize winner Sir Aaron Klug, participated in this symposium.

Lectures, in chronological order:

Progress of Chinese Science and Technology
Chunli Bai, President of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Novel Chemistry with Nanomaterials
C. N. R. Rao, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, India

Single-site Nanoporous Solids: The Confluence of Heterogeneous and Homogeneous Catalysis
Sir John Meurig Thomas, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom

Engineered Zinc Finger Proteins for Targeted Intervention in Gene Regulation in Biotechnology and Therapeutics
Sir Aaron Klug, 1982 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, United Kingdom

Nanoporous Capsules: Aesthetics and Multifunctionality in Harmony
Achim Müller, University of Bielefeld, Germany

Nanocrystalline Solar Cells for the 21st Century
Michael Graetzel, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne; Switzerland

Phonons and Heat Flow in Nanowires, with Applications to Energy Harvesting and Conversion
Jim Heath, California Institute of Technology, United States

Tug-of-War Collisional Dynamics
Richard Zare, Stanford University, United States

DNA: Not Merely the Secret of Life
Nadrian Seeman, New York University, United States

Nanotechnology: Slouching toward Function
George Whitesides, Harvard University, United States

Time: May 30, 2008 - May 31, 2008 Location: Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Stockholm